Pootcorners

Palmerston, Ontario

Products:
Artisan, Butcher & Deli, Breeding farm, Hiking

Peter and Suelaine Poot purchased their first two alpacas in 2004. Since then, their 24-acre family farm has become home to both Suri and Huacaya Alpacas, as well as to their six children (Ben, Joellen, Taryn, Moria, Reuben & Isaac) who are all active both within their farm and the surrounding community.

Pootcorners is unique in that they raise their animals for both clothing fibres and for meat consumption, unlike most other Alpaca fibre farms within Ontario. As a result of this sustainable, no-waste practice, Pootcorners produces beautiful, natural coloured Alpaca hides, as well as lovely clothing and other fibre products.

At the farm shop you will find yarn, mitts and gloves, scarves, hats, blankets, shawls, socks and more.

Alpaca meat is a very mild, very lean, low cholesterol meat that is high in protein. It takes on the flavor of whatever it is cooked with. Our alpaca meat is raised on pasture, with supplemental hay in the winter and without any hormones.

Those who wish to stretch their legs after long hours of driving, can walk in the forest trails on our 24 acres land. You can see several birds there. Located in a rural area, it is a very quiet place to spend the night by RV.

Welcome RV travelers! Although we welcome you all season long, we do shear alpacas in May and June. If you wish, you could even participate! Also note that our farm is wheelchair accessible.

Service in English.

Parking and Route Informations: You will need to drive about 1 km on a well maintained gravel road to get to the farm. RVs can park either on asphalt near the garage or near the alpaca paddock on a grassed area.

Coordinates

Address: 9455 Road 146, Palmerston, Ontario, N0G 2P0
In order to find out schedules and/or costs related to activities offered by this producer (if applicable), please consult his web site.
GPS Coordinates : lat. : 43.80291 / long. : -80.81779

Specific information:

Pets allowed on parking lots, if on a leash.
Maximum check-in time: 21 h

Parking spots available

Parking name Length Ground type Calendar
RV Parking 1 up to 27' Grass
RV Parking 2 up to 27' Asphalt

Pootcorners

Palmerston, Ontario

Produits et activités :
Artisan, Boucherie et Charcuterie, Ferme élevage, Randonnée

Peter et Suelaine Poot ont acheté leurs deux premiers alpagas en 2004. Depuis, leur ferme familiale de 24 acres est devenue le foyer des alpagas Suri et Huacaya, ainsi que de leurs six enfants (Ben, Joellen, Taryn, Moria, Reuben & Isaac) qui sont tous impliqués à la ferme et dans la communauté.

Pootcorners est unique en ce sens que nous élevons les animaux à la fois pour la laine et pour la viande, contrairement à la plupart des autres fermes de fibres d'alpaga de l'Ontario. Grâce à cette pratique durable et sans déchets, Pootcorners produit de belles peaux d'alpaga de couleur naturelle, de beaux vêtements et autres articles.

Au magasin de la ferme, vous trouverez de la laine, des mitaines et des gants, des écharpes, des chapeaux, des couvertures, des châles, des chaussettes et plus encore.

La viande d'alpaga est une viande très douce, très maigre, faible en cholestérol et riche en protéines. Elle prend la saveur de tout ce avec quoi elle est cuisinée. Nos alpagas sont élevés en pâturage, avec un supplément de foin en hiver et sans hormones.

Ceux qui désirent se dégourdir les jambes après de longues heures de routes, peuvent marcher dans les sentiers forestiers sur notre terre de 24 acres. Vous pourrez y voir plusieurs oiseaux. Situé en milieu rural, c'est un endroit très tranquille pour passer la nuit en VR.

Bienvenue aux voyageurs en VR ! Bien que nous vous accueillons toute la saison, sachez que nous procédons à la tonte des alpagas lors des mois de mai et juin. Si vous le désirez, vous pourriez même participer! Notez aussi que notre ferme est accessible aux fauteuils roulants.

Service en anglais.

Note sur le stationnement et le trajet: Vous devrez rouler sur un chemin de gravier bien entretenu sur environ 1 kilomètre pour vous rendre à la ferme. Les VR peuvent se stationner soit sur l'asphalte près du garage ou près de l'enclos à alpagas sur un espace gazonné.

Coordonnées

Adresse : 9455 Road 146, Palmerston, Ontario, N0G 2P0
Pour connaître les horaires ou coûts pouvant s’appliquer à certaines activités offertes chez ce producteur, prière de consulter son site internet.
Coordonnées GPS : lat. : 43,80291 / long. : -80,81779

Informations spécifiques

Les animaux sont autorisés sur le stationnement, si tenus en laisse
Heure maximale d'arrivée : 21 h

Stationnements disponibles

Nom de l'emplacement Longueur Type de sol Calendrier
RV Parking 1 27' et moins Gazon
RV Parking 2 27' et moins Asphalte